2018 World Cup Preview

See Match Tips
2018 World Cup Preview
Written By Simon  | 11th June

Can England win the 2018 World Cup? 

The World Cup is more about players than teams and most of the world’s best have shown their ability in the football tournament that matters most. Italy and Holland are absent but very few of their current players would make a top 10 of the best players in the world in 2018. Here are 10 players to look out for in this year’s world Cup and a key fact about them from qualifying and their international career: 

David De Gea (Spain) played nine times during qualifying and in six of those fixtures his team did not concede a goal. 

Son-Heung-Min (South Korea) is obliged to do national service for his country but if they do well he will be exempt. No pressure then.    

Eden Hazard (Belgium) has never scored a goal in the World Cup finals but he was involved in 11 of the goals his country scored during ualifying.

Paul Pogba (France) has played 52 times for France and has scored nine goals, the same number of times he has been booked during his international career.

Lionel Messi (Argentina) has played for his country 121 times and scored 61 goals and had 42 assists so 103 of both in total.

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) has scored 78 goals for Portugal so is now three goals behind Ferenc Puskas who holds the record for a team from Europe.

Neymar (Brazil) scored six goals and has eight assists during qualifying which was the most for any South American player.

Sadio Mane (Senegal) has scored 44 goals in 123 matches in the Premier League which is the highest number for a player from Senegal. 

Mo Salah (Egypt) first played fir Egypt at the age of 19 and his record is 33 goals in 51 appearances for the national team.   

Mesut Ozil (Germany) has played in 14 World Cup games for Germany and his country have only lost three of those matches.   

Luis Suarez (Uruguay) has scored 50 goals in 97 matches for Uruguay and that includes five in his last six World Cup matches. 

Only eight teams have won the World Cup and here is the record of the world champions: 

Brazil (5) – 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002.

Germany (4) – 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014.

Italy (4) – 1934, 1938, 1982 and 206.

Argentina (2) – 1978 and 1986.

Uruguay (2) – 1930 and 1950.

England (1) – 1966.

France (1) – 1998.

Spain (1) – 2010.     

England have the worst record in World Cup penalty shootouts, having lost three from three. However, Jamie Vardy and Harry Maguire are in the squad and the last Leicester player to make the squad was Gordon Banks in 1966. 

England have fielded 174 different players in the World Cup and 40 of them have scored at least one goal. David Beckham is the only player at three tournaments. There have been 53 bookings for England players and three red cards. 

Over the last four World Cups England have either matched the previous progress or done worse. England were eliminated at the group stage in Brazil in 2014 so qualifying for the last 16 will be an improvement. 2018 World Cup Preview

MonsterBet's Prediction & Betting Tips

England to be eliminated at the quarter-finals stage at 11/5 with Ladbrokes.

Written By : Simon
Posted on : 11th June