Premier League Darts

The Premier League Darts is a tournament that has revolutionised the sport and increased it's popularity with the mainstream public since it's conception. The competition is one of the largest attended indoor sporting events and is televised weekly to a global audience between the months of February and May (traditionally on Thursday nights). The name Premier League is synonymous with England's top level football league, and for darts, the Premier League is a platform for the best players in the word to compete for a prize pool worth over half a million pounds.

Launched in 2005, the Premier League was introduced as a fortnightly fixture featuring just seven players, but it's popularity and unique charm of sport, drama, enthusiastic and simply at times, bonkers crowds, has seen the Premier League grow to become a weekly fixture, made up of the ten biggest names currently participating in the sport. The top four players in the PDC Order of Merit (world ranking system used by the professional darts corporation), gain automatic entry, along with six wild card selections, who compete in a double-round-robin formatted tournament.

18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

The concept which has seen the Premier League Darts flourish over it's relatively short history, has not just been the weekly live coverage, but the touring element of the event. Each week, the show is packed up and transported to a different venue across the United Kingdom and Ireland, which has seen the finals staged at some of the biggest and iconic venues these two nations have, from the G-Mex in Manchester, and the Plymouth Pavilions in the early years, to the shiny lights of London, and the Wembley and O2 Arena's.

Since the tournament's launch in 2008, the Premier League Darts has been largely dominated by the Englishman Phil Taylor, a man considered by many as the best professional darts player to ever grace the oche. Taylor who began his career back in 1988, has won every major title the sport has had to offer, from multiple Word Championships, Matchplay titles, Grand Slam victories, to collecting the first four Premier League Champion trophy's. Taylor ran away with his first Premier League title (2005), beating fellow Englishman Colin Lloyd in the first ever final, hosted by the G-Mex in Manchester, winning by 16 legs to four.

The early years of the tournament saw the final contested over a 'best of 31 legs' format, however this has been altered twice since, dropping to the 'best of 25 legs' in 2009, in which James Wade beat Mervyn King to the crown of Champion, and dropped further to the 'best of 19 legs' a year later in 2010, which remains the current format of the final to this day.

Following on from his win in the first ever Premier League Darts final (2005), Phil Taylor made it to the Plymouth Pavilions once more the very next year, and repeated his triumph from a year earlier, by beating the Dutchman Roland Scholten by 16 legs to six to be crowned the Champion. Almost an additional £100,000 was added to the prize pool the following year (2007), in which the 'Power' Taylor beat Terry Jenkins in the final, staged at the Brighton Centre. Once more the prize pool was extended a year later, at the time, an all-time high of £340,000 was divided between the participants, with £100,000 going to the winner alone, and the world's greatest completed his fourth consecutive win of the Premier League Darts tournament by beating James Wade in the final, in which for the first time in it's history, was held outside of England, in the Cardiff International Arena in Wales. His run of success between the years of 2005 and 2008 saw Phil Taylor amass an unbeaten run of 44 matches, which to this day, is the longest unbeaten run in the tournament.

Although for many years, Phil Taylor has been the main attraction to Darts, due to the prize pool increasing every year since the tournament was launched in 2005, the Premier League of darts attracts the high-profile and highest rated competitors from around the globe, which included the Dutch pair of Raymond Van Barneveld and Michael Van Gerwen, and the Australian Simon Whitlock, who in 2011 was involved in an epic clash with Gary Anderson, which featured eleven 180's.

Premier League Darts Betting

From betting on a nine dart finish to 170 checkout, the bookmakers have all areas of the board covered when it comes to betting on darts, specifically, Premier League darts betting. As with the majority of tournaments and competitions in any sport, the outright betting market is by far the most popular, which goes some way to explaining why bookmakers offer prices on the next Premier League Darts Champion up to a year ahead of the event starting in February of each year. The outright market is also one of two markets most 'serious' darts punter tend to find the 'value bets' that we all crave, with the other being the match statistics markets, for example, the three dart average market or the highest checkout market. The reason behind this is because the odds quoted by bookmakers for a player to win their individual match, are historically quite short, unless you've spotted an underdog that’s capable of toppling a favourite. If you're considering using one of our free bets to back an individual match winner, you might want to consider building up an accumulator, of a number of players you believe will win their match, these types of bets are both fun and traditionally provide high payouts should you be successful, due to you boosting the odds with additional matches.

You can explore Premier League Darts betting further by taking a look at our Darts Betting section of the Monsterbet site, where we breakdown the most popular markets offered by the bookmakers, which include markets such as predicting the correct score of an individual contest. You'll also find our top recommended bookmakers for free bets on Premier League Darts betting.

Previous Premier League Darts Winners


2017 - The O2 Arena, London

Michael van Gerwen (11-10) Peter Wright



2016 - The O2 Arena, London

Michael van Gerwen (11-3) Phil Taylor


2015 - The O2 Arena, London

Gary Anderson (11-7) Michael van Gerwen



2014 - The 02 Arena, London

Raymond van Barneveld (10-6) Michael van Gerwen



2013 – The O2 Arena, London

Michael Van Gerwen (10-8) Phil Taylor



2012 – The O2 Arena, London

Phil Taylor (10-7) Simon Whitlock



2011 – Wembley Arena, London

Gary Anderson (10-4) Adrian Lewis



2010 – Wembley Arena, London

Phil Taylor (10-8) James Wade



2009 – Wembley Arena, London

James Wade (13-8) Mervyn King



2008 – Cardiff International Arena, Wales

Phil Taylor (16-8) James Wade



2007 – The Brighton Centre, Brighton

Phil Taylor (16-6) Terry Jenkins



2006 – Plymouth Pavilions, Plymouth

Phil Taylor (16-6) Roland Scholten



2005 – G-Mex, Manchester

Phil Taylor (16-4) Colin Lloyd

Free Bets on the Premier League Darts

The only way to further boost your excitement and enjoyment of an evening of Premier League darts, is by using one of our free bets to place a bet on your favourite player to win their match, or a your fancy to win the tournament. Premier League Darts betting is vast, and online bookmakers now have countless amounts of betting markets on every individual match, every Thursday night, so with a bit or research, and some help along the way from our experts in our preview area of the site, you can turn one of our free bets into huge winnings!.

Simply follow the banners and links on site to Monsterbet's top recommended bookmakers for the latest and biggest free bet offers, place your free bet, and sit back and watch an enjoyable evening of Premier League Darts.