ICC World Twenty20

Twenty20 cricket (T20) is largely recognised as one of the most popular forms of cricket in the modern era, with attendances and viewership continuing to grow. The short format of the game is suited to big hitting and large scores with the bat, which many supporters prefer over the longer 50 overs or five-day test cricket formats. In 2007, the ICC (International Cricket Council) launched the World Cup of Twenty20 cricket, to meet demands from fans of the format. Dating back to the first ever Twenty20 matches played between English counties in the Twenty20 cup in 2003, the shorter format of the sport spread to international level, and for the first time in 2007, the best international teams from across the world assembled in South Africa to crown the champions of the World Twenty20.

12 International teams contest the World Cup of Twenty20, consisting of two winning qualifying nations, and all ten members of the governing body of cricket, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe. Since the tournaments inaugurating year in 2007, the competition has been staged every two years, expect the second and third Twenty20 World Cup's were held in back-to-back years (2009, 2010).

The competition traditionally starts with a round-robin group phrase, followed by a Super 8 (two points for a win, one point for a no result and 0 points for a loss for both group and super 8 phases) and is concluded with a semi-final and grand final to determine the champions.

India won the first ever ICC World Twenty20 in South Africa (2007), beating Pakistan by five runs in the grand final. The tournament which consisted of the 'big 10' and joined by Scotland and Kenya (finalists of the world cricket league division one), was played over 13 days in September. Following the 27 matches in the tournament, Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) was handed the man of the series award, along with team-mate Umar Gul earning the most wickets accolade, collecting a total of 13 in the tournament. Matthew Hayden shone with the bat, scoring 265 throughout the tournament, which was deemed a resounding triumph, and the birth of many Word Twenty20 tournaments of the future.

England played hosts for the second ever World Twenty20, in which Pakistan improved upon their runners-up finish two years prior, to land the spoils and take the World T20 crown by beating Sri Lanka in a one sided final by eight wickets. The tournament was contested across three venues, Trent Bridge, The Oval and the home of the grand final, Lord's. For the second consecutive tournament, Umar Gul (Pakistan) collected the most wickets (13), but it was Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan who scored the most runs (317) and was awarded with the man of the series prize.

The hosts turned visitors and winners in 2010, as England travelled to the West Indies to compete in the third ever World Twenty20 tournament. England with the help of a man of the series performance from Kevin Pietersen secured their first T20 championship, beating rivals Australia in the final by seven wickets. In a repeat of fortunes, the hosts turned winners once more two years later, as the West Indies were crowned champions of the fourth edition of the World Twenty20. The tournament in 2012 was hosted by Sri Lanka, who made it to all the way to the grand final on home soil, but ultimately fell short by 36 runs. Ajantha Mendis took the most wickets of the tournament for the host nation, and Shane Watson of Australia top scored with the bat with 249 runs, taking the man of the series accolade.

18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

ICC World Twenty20 Betting

Considering placing one of our free bets on the World Twenty20? Bookmakers consider the ICC World Twenty20 betting markets as one of the most in-demand markets of the cricketing calendar, and it's therefore the reason why they have traders and odds compliers situated throughout the world creating interesting markets for us punters to get involved in. Undoubtedly, the first market us punters tend to look out for, is the outright market.

We must consider factors such as which team has a stronger batting line-up and has runs throughout the team, and which side possesses the bowlers to rip through their opponents line-up. Many key elements go into picking the nation you think will win the World Twenty20, one of the most important is the conditions the teams will face. Thus far in the tournaments history, the competition has been hosted in a different country, which means different conditions for both the bowlers and the men scoring the runs with the bat.

Once you've assessed the key variables, and made your section, it all comes down to price, finding the bookmaker offering the biggest price, and using one of our Monsterbet free bets to place your outright bet with that bookmaker. Don't worry, Monsterbet has amassed all the latest and biggest free bet offers from all the major and up-and-coming bookmakers in one place, so whichever bookmaker has the biggest price, you'll be able to use one of our free bets with them to place your bet on any of the ICC World Twenty20 markets.

Individual match betting is also available throughout the tournament, for example the match winner market, top batsman or bowler, or the team to score the most sixes. Bookmakers also now offer betting-in-play throughout the tournament and it's matches, so you can bet as you watch. For an in-depth look at the major betting markets in cricket, feel free to take a look at our Cricket Betting section of the site, which also includes our top recommend bookmakers for free bets on cricket.

ICC World Twenty20 Winners


2016 - Hosted by India

Champions - West Indies

Runners-up - England



2014 – Hosted by Bangladesh

Champions - Sri Lanka

Runners-up - India



2012 – Hosted by Sri Lanka

Champions - West Indies

Runners-up – Sri Lanka



2010 – Hosted by the West Indies

Champions - England

Runners-up – Australia



2009 – Hosted by England

Champions - Pakistan

Runners-up – Sri Lanka



2007 – Hosted by South Africa

Champions - India

Runners-up – Pakistan

ICC World Twenty20 Free Bets

Here's where we tell you how to get your hands on the biggest free bet offers for betting on the ICC World Twenty20, and bowl out the bookmakers with your bets. Monster bet has put together a list of our top recommend bookmakers, for you to easily choose the free bet offer that suits your needs. Simply click on any of our banners or links throughout the site, and we'll take you to the bookmakers virtual doorstep, where you'll be able to place a free bet on the ICC World Twenty20 tournament.

Don't forget to check out our preview section, as our Monsterbet experts guide you through the latest sporting action, including our previews of the up-and-coming cricket and World Twenty20 matches, including the tips that will hit the bookmakers out of the ground for six!.