ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC (International Cricket Council) Champions Trophy is a tournament contested by the highest ranked One Day International teams, and is one of the major competitions held in the cricket calender. Inaugurated in 1998 as the ICC Knock Out Tournament, the competition has evolved over it's relative short history and from 2002, it was re-branded the ICC Champions Trophy. The format along with countries that contest the coveted trophy have also altered throughout the years, originally open to all ICC members, however since 2009, the competition has been limited to the eight highest-ranked international ODI teams, as of six-months prior to the tournament. The ICC Champions Trophy is popular for sports punters who bet on cricket.

18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

The current format sees two-groups of four teams, with the top two teams from each group meeting in the semi-finals, with the winners progressing to the final to compete for the trophy. The tournament is fiercely fought over two weeks of action, played in venues across the host nation.

The 1998 Knock Out Trophy (First tournament) was staged in Dhaka, Bangladesh, with South Africa beating the West Indies in the final to be crowed the first Champions of the competition. In 2000, the tournament was held in Nairobi, Kenya. Countries such as Sri Lanka, West Indies and England disputed the early stages, but it was New Zealand who prevailed over India in the final.

Sri Lanka was the host country in 2002. The home-nation were boosted by the native support to reach the final against India. Sri Lanka completed their 50-overs of batting, however rain halted India's session after just two-overs. The match was deemed a wash-out and the teams arrived at the venue the following day for a re-run of the final. Once more, Sri Lanka batted for their scheduled full 50-overs, and with just eight-overs into India's response, the final would again fall victim to adverse weather conditions. Following 110-overs of combined play, the hosts and India were declared the joint winners.

The ICC Champions Trophy arrived in England in 2004, with the USA making their One Day International debut. The hosts made it into the final held at the Oval, but it was the visitors West Indies who came out on top with a two-wicket triumph with just seven-balls remaining. The current format of the tournament was introduced in 2006, hosted by India. The top-six sides in the ICC ODI standings along with two teams chosen from a pre-tournament qualifying round competed in two-groups. Australia comfortably toppled the West Indies in the final by eight-wickets to win their first ICC Champions Trophy.

Originally scheduled for 2008, the tournament was shrouded by controversy, as nations were averse to visiting the host country Pakistan for concerns over security. The tournament was postponed until the following year. In 2009, the ICC made the decision to stage the tournament elsewhere, and The Republic of South Africa were named the new hosts of the competition. Following all the controversy and drama, Australia retained their crown by defeating New Zealand in the final by six-wickets. The ICC intend the 2013 Champions Trophy hosted jointly by England and Wales to be the last, and will be replaced with a World Test Championship.

ICC Champions Trophy Betting

For Cricket Betting enthusiasts, the ICC Champions Trophy provides a sublime platform and two-weeks full of betting prospects, as our infographic below shows. Similarly to major Cricket and other sporting tournaments, punters can bet on the outright winners of the ICC Champions Trophy months ahead of the event itself. Cricket betting fanatics can also attempt to predict which team will reach the final, the tournament's top batsman (most runs) and bowler (most wickets), and for the astute and skilled Cricket bettors, bookmakers will also accept bets on you naming both finalists.

ICC Champions Trophy Betting also entails betting on the winning nation of each group (Group A, Group B), along with the traditional Cricket markets for each individual match throughout the tournament, such as match winner, player betting and the introduction of Betting-In-Play. Additionally, look out for bookmakers offering special markets and promotions heading into and during the competition.

One of the key factors to betting on the ICC Champions Trophy is a team's form heading into the two-week tournament, as there is no room for error or 'warm-up' matches during the competition. Teams looking to have a realistic chance of making it out of the group-stages and through to the semi-final and final will have to 'hit the ground running'. Evidently the squad announcement heading into the Champions Trophy is vital, and it is at this juncture that many punters 'come out to play', when the likely players to compete are announced.

ICC Champions Trophy Betting Infographic

ICC Champions Trophy Tournament Statistics



Winner – India

Most Runs Scored – Shikhar Dhawan (India) 363 Runs

Most Wickets – Ravindra Jadeja (India) 12 Wickets 




Winner – Australia

Most Runs Scored – Ricky Ponting (Australia) 288 Runs

Most Wickets – Wayne Parnell (South Africa) 11 Wickets




Winner – Australia

Most Runs Scored – Chris Gayle (West Indies) 474 Runs

Most Wickets – Jerome Taylor (West Indies) 13 Wickets




Winner – West Indies

Most Runs Scored – Marcus Trescothick (England) 261 Runs

Most Wickets – Andrew Flintoff (England) 9 Wickets




Winner – India & Sri Lanka

Most Runs Scored – Virender Sehwag (India) 271 Runs

Most Wickets – Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) 10 Wickets




Winner – New Zealand

Most Runs Scored – Sourav Ganguly (India) 348 Runs

Most Wickets – Venkatesh Prasad (India) 8 Wickets


Winner – South Africa

Most Runs Scored – Philo Wallace (West Indies) 221 Runs

Most Wickets – Jacques Kallis (South Africa) 8 Wickets 




Free Bets on the ICC Champions Trophy

Monsterbet has put together a list of our top recommended bookmakers for free bets on the ICC Champions Trophy and Cricket in general. You can use one of our free bets on the outright winner market, you can place your free bet on the tournament's top run scorer, or you can have your free bet on any market in the ball-by-ball Betting-In-Play platform throughout the competition.

Don't forget to check back to monsterbet for the latest ICC Champions Trophy betting news, previews, tips and the latest free bets and promotions.